About the Government Hall of Fame and Teddy Awards


Government Hall of Fame Gala

Honoring Dedication to Public Service

The federal government’s roles and missions extend far and wide, including protecting and defending the United States, exploring space, gathering weather and climate data, and overseeing massive health and social welfare programs. The annual Government Hall of Fame Gala gathers current and former government officials and stakeholders to celebrate the public sector leaders who have made historic achievements and advances in these and other areas of government.

Each year, we honor the newest class of Government Hall of Fame inductees and the winners of the Theodore Roosevelt Government Leadership Awards. The Government Hall of Fame celebrates distinguished civil servants who have demonstrated sustained achievement and unparalleled dedication to public service throughout their careers, and the Theodore Roosevelt Government Leadership Awards recognize an exclusive class of federal managers, executives and industry leaders for their recent achievements in delivering on government’s promise to serve the American people.

Katherine Johnsons grandson Michael Moore accepts his grandmothers induction into the government hall of fame on her behalf

The Awards Program


The Government Hall of Fame is designed for those who have reached a high pinnacle of success during their careers in civil service. The Hall of Fame honors the best of the best: those who have demonstrated sustained achievement and unparalleled dedication to public service throughout their careers. The Hall of Fame Inductees have done much more than achieved a singular accomplishment—they have made historic progress in changing government for the better, and their influence will live on for generations. Each year a new class of inductees will be added to this group’s elite membership.


The Theodore Roosevelt Government Leadership Awards (The Teddies) honor an all-star team of distinguished federal officials and industry leaders for outstanding achievement in delivering on government’s promise to serve the American people. Each year two winners will be chosen in the Visionaries, Directors, Pathfinders, Defenders and Partners categories for demonstrated success in their work over a given year. The Visionaries, Directors, Pathfinders and Defenders categories are for federal government and military leaders. The Partners category is for non-government partners.

The Selection Committee

A Selection Committee made up of luminaries in government management and public administration will select winners of the awards led by Tom Shoop, editor-in-chief, and Tim Clark, editor-at-large.


Calvin Byrd is the former Senior Level Advisor for Physical Security at the Nuclear Regulatory Commission. After the 9/11 terrorist attacks, he led response actions for enhanced protection at NRC facilities. Earlier in his career, he worked as Chief of two security divisions at the Federal Emergency Management Agency. He also served on President Clinton’s National Partnership for Reinventing Government.

Jessica Klement

Jessica Klement is the Staff Vice President for Advocacy at the National Association of Active and Retired Federal Employees, where she is responsible for carrying out its legislative, grassroots and political strategies. Prior to joining NARFE, Klement served as the Government and Public Affairs Director at the Federal Managers Association.

Robert Tobias

Robert Tobias is the Director of the Institute for the Study of Public Policy Implementation in the School of Public Affairs at American University. He was the longtime President of the National Treasury Employees Union and is a former member of the Internal Revenue Service Oversight Board and the congressionally created Commercial Activities Panel.

Jenny Mattingley

Jenny Mattingley is a Policy and Legislative Consultant in federal management practices. She is the former Executive Director of the Performance Improvement Council, and Director of the White House Leadership Development Council. Earlier in her career, she was Director of Government Affairs at Shaw, Bransford & Roth P.C.

Timothy Clark

Timothy B. Clark is Editor-at-Large at Government Executive Media Group, and the former Editor-in-Chief, Publisher and President of Government Executive. He has spent his journalistic career studying and writing about government. He is a founder of National Journal and also founded Empire State Report, a monthly magazine about government in New York.

Terry Gerton

Teresa Gerton was named President and CEO of the National Academy of Public Administration in January 2017. Previously, she had nearly 12 years in the Senior Executive Service as a career member and a political appointee, and 20 years of service as an active duty Army officer. Her expertise has been recognized with both the Distinguished and the Meritorious Presidential Rank Awards.

Jason A. Briefel

Jason Briefel is a partner at the law firm Shaw, Bransford & Roth, where as director of government and public affairs he provides representation to nonprofit and corporate clients. There, he serves as executive director of the Senior Executives Association, representing members of the federal government’s elite Senior Executive Service. He is the treasurer of the Federal Employee Education and Assistance Fund.

Tom Shoop

Tom Shoop is executive vice president and editor in chief at Government Executive Media Group, where he oversees editorial operations at Government Executive, Nextgov, Defense One and Route Fifty. He started as associate editor of Government Executive magazine in 1989; launched the company’s flagship website, GovExec.com, in 1996; and was named editor in chief in 2007.